I had said that I wouldn’t report on the Gala Dinner held on Thursday – to spare the blushes of the innocent! However, I must mention two things:

First, yours truly was chosen as “Most Improved Irish 66er 2008” – for “going from 50 miles per hour to 90 in 5 days”!

The hat - my prize! (The shirt is our team shirt, kindly provided by Nobby Usher)

The hat - my prize! (The shirt is our team shirt, kindly provided by Nobby Usher)

Second, and the real reason for this extra blog entry, was that I and two other Irish 66ers who had had small tips (the technical term is that we “laid down” our bikes) were called up at the end of the awards presentations and given a wodge of cash each, a contribution towards the loss of our deposits with EagleRider, raised in a whiparound by the Irish 66ers. Chief RoadCaptain Tony Toner explained to me “You’re an Irish 66er now and we look after each other”. You sure do – guys and gals, I don’t know you all by name, but thank you all most sincerely – I’m truly humbled by your generousity. GO Irish 66ers!!

